Duly Noted

Most peculiar

variation on a theme

I thought I was supposed to forget

or had forgotten me

Bespectacled

strong stance facing mine;

a cross, the Way

I hadn’t introduced

but believe i knew

or am getting to know

Been see(k)ing the desire of my heart

everywhere lately

Dutiful Father showing up

taking me to school

every morning

no matter my route or schedule

Of course, the reflection was just

one of Your sons

yet it made my day to notice him

writing something in his hand

before he stepped away;

a chosen and deliberate activation

of muscle memory

I smiled inside

understanding that

whatever it was

must’ve been important

The Door opened at his station

then a man dressed

as a famous mime sang and strummed

“And I Love Her”.

One Comment

#SOwatt is your opinion? Leave a reply.

